Surah Fatiha Translation

With the name of Allah, the All-Merciful, the Very-Merciful. [1]

Praise belongs to Allah, the Lord of all the worlds [2]

The All-Merciful, the Very-Merciful [3]

The Master of the Day of Judgment. [4]

You alone we worship, and from You alone we seek help. [5]

Guide us in the straight path. [6]

The path of those on whom You have bestowed Your Grace, not of those who have incurred Your wrath, nor of those who have gone astray. [7]

This surah contains 7 verses. The first 3 as can be seen above are in praise of Allah, whilst the last 3 consist of a prayer (that people should make which has been taught by Allah over here in these verses)

Abu Huraira narrates from the messenger of Allah (ﷺ) that “Allah has said the prayer (i.e. surah Fatiha) is equally divided between me and my servant and my servant shall be given what he prays for.”

The Prophet (ﷺ) then continued: “When the servant says:

“praise belongs to Allah, the lord of the worlds”

Allah says: “My servant has paid homage to me.” when he says:

“the All-Merciful, the Very-merciful”

Allah says: “My servant has praised me.” When the servant says:

“the master of the Day of Judgement”

Allah says, “My servant has proclaimed my greatness.” when the servant says:

“you alone we worship, and to you alone we pray for help,”

Allah says, “This verse is common to me and my servant. He shall be given what he has prayed for.” When the servant says:

“Guide us in the Straight path…..,”

Allah says: “All this is there for my servant. He shall be given what he prays for.” {mazhari}

And Allah Knows Best.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s